The Vast Evergreen Forest of Home

I grew up in Washington, the Evergreen State. The longer I live in southern California the stronger my desire to move “up home” as they say in the south. I miss the mountains, and the trees.

I received a pine tree seedling for Christmas and it sits on a table in the living room in a small plastic pot. It’s growing so it fills the living room with the smell of pine. I walk through the living room first thing in the morning heading for the coffee pot, and the smell makes my heart ache. The little tree is the vast evergreen forest of home, sitting there on my table.

 What reminds you of home? Is it sitting on your table? Hanging on your wall? Stowed in the attic?

Leave a comment

Filed under New Life, New Season

Leave a Reply

