If Thunder Was Desire

I loved John Prine’s music when I was in my twenties, when everything was forward and up and I was chasing the future. Until this morning I hadn’t listened to John Prine in twenty-five years.

Things got so sad in the nineties and into the new millennium that listening to Prine would have been masochistic, something akin to mental suicide. His music is lonely and true and as sad as can be. But today I needed to uncover another part of what I am made for.

In order to get at the true part of sad I thought of a song of Prine’s that I loved years ago and describes more today than ever before where many of us are, relative to our gifts, what we’re good at, what we love to do.

The first stanza says

“I am an old woman, named after my mother

My old man is another child that’s grown old

If dreams were lightning, and thunder was desire

This old house would have burnt down a long time ago.”

I’ve decided to uncover, defend, and magnify the gifts I’ve been given.

What about you? There is something you love to do, something you are good at, something you were made for.

What is it?

If you struggle to uncover what that is, listen to “Angel From Montgomery.” You may remember something you haven’t thought of for a long, long time.

Listen here to John Prine and Bonnie Raitt sing “Angel From Montgomery”:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1T5NuI6Ai-o

1 Comment

Filed under New Life, New Season

One response to “If Thunder Was Desire

  1. Rita

    What is the question of how and in vain to pretend that I said that what is cruel and evil with evil. If you are angry with me wherever I am, that I may be denied. It would be wrong, he saw the picture, if you will be taught. What message was serious about them, “the words you read in the mirror and you’ll see some positive chemotherapy, use hands to worry about the damage, loss of speech is not always the voice of the software does not count … but the wallpaper, not to fight.” It’s hard to say, in the worst motivational speaker and the public that are not healthy, and we can not cover the right to life.

Leave a Reply

