Studded Tires – Everybody Sing!

The sound of studded tires on the road is a happy sound, powerful and gravely as if the tires were tearing up the highway on the road to Somewhere Important. There is a specific and arbitrary period of time allowed by the state for driving with studded tires and to drive with studded tires outside the prescribed time is a violation of the law. Driving with studded tires during the lawless time is particularly fine.

My sister puts studded tires on her Ford Escape named Magoo, and she wrote about the joy of driving with the gravely powerful sound of studded tires. It is to be sung to the tune of “Cracklin’ Rosie” by Neil Diamond.

(Speaking from experience a good way to sing this is to call up Neil on youtube and sing along with Mary’s words, unless you know the song by heart and don’t need Neil’s encouragement.)

Got a studded tires story? Post it here!

 

“Cracklin’ Tires

(Sung to the tune of “Cracklin’ Rosie” by Neil Diamond)

By Mary Leicester

Cracklin’ tires, make some noise

We’re gonna ride until it just aint legal no more

What a bore

Lord, don’t you know

I’d like to drive on these year ‘round

Bitchin’ ‘bout tearing up the roads

I could care less, my taxes should be able to pay (for new roads)

Anyway

I’ll drive what I want

Don’t need to say please to no man for some studded tires

Oh, I love my studded tires

You got the way to make me happy

You and me, we go on studs

Cracklin’ tires, you’re store-bought awesome

You make a noise like a guitar hummin’

So hang on to me, tires

Our noise keeps runnin’ on

Drive it now

Drive it now, my studded

Cracklin’ tires, make me smile

If I can only drive for an hour, that’s ok

Don’t care either way

I’ll drive ‘em ‘til May

Find us a cop that don’t ask no questions, yeah

Oh, I love my studded tires

You got the way to make me happy

You and me, we go on studs

Cracklin’ tires, you’re store-bought awesome

You make a noise like a guitar hummin’

So hang on to me, tires

Our noise keeps runnin’ on

Drive it now

Drive it now

Drive it now, my studded

Cracklin’ tires, make me smile

If I can only drive for an hour, that’s ok

Don’t care either way

I’ll drive ‘em ‘til May

Find us a cop that don’t ask no questions, yeah!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Studded Tires – Everybody Sing!

  1. Mary

    OH. MY. GOODNESS.

    David will be so pleased . . . (laughter) who knew my ditty would be posted on the web? This will be further ammo in our constant horn locking over how long one should keep the studs singing on the pavement! You have blessed me.

  2. Kathy

    Yes, ma’am, I post the song, you guys get the ticket. Perfect.

Leave a Reply

