You Shall Not Judge

I don’t have an option to judge others anymore. I’m to help believers if they’ve behaving in a manner inconsistent with Scripture, and I am to love my unbelieving neighbors. I am not to judge their behavior.

I am not I am not I am not to judge their behavior.

Which is, of course, exactly what I just did.

I was just told that someone I know past retirement age but still working and making over $100K a year is going to file for social security payments. “I’m going to get as much as I can for as long as I can” says this person.

I said things. Things as in “you know you’re stealing from your grandchildren, and your neighbors, and your coworkers.” “You know there is no money.” Etcetera etcetera etcetera, as the King of Siam would say.

I’m sure that somewhere deep down I want to do right. Even if I don’t feel like it, I still want to do right by the Lord, who saved me and wants me to love my neighbor. I feel so far short today, in the space of five minutes. So far short….

Then I wrestle with the rationalization “But I’m right! It’s a wrong thing to do!” Doesn’t matter. Don’t judge.

I do not like green eggs and ham, I do not like them, Sam I Am.

I have so very far to go.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “You Shall Not Judge

  1. Pingback: You Shall Not Judge « Kathy Leicester | U.S. Justice Talk

  2. This is tricky.
    “Judge not” does not mean that we cast away all discernment. We must be able to recognize the difference between right and wrong.
    If we see a “wrong” being done, and have the ability and opportunity to correct it, wouldn’t it be wrong not to?
    I believe that the admonition to “not judge” refers to a person’s salvation, the quality of their spirit.

  3. Kathy

    Sometimes I pretend being hard on myself is very holy and pietous, and it’s neither! In this case since there is no hope of changing the other person’s behavior, I was wondering if what I said could have been left unsaid.

    The answer to that is “no,” it needed to be said. And “yes” to your last sentence. I do hope I can remember to articulate this to someone else when the next time occurs that someone else who is doing wrong says “You can’t judge me!”

Leave a Reply

